Update on Mandatory Reporting of COVID-19 Results to Florida Department of Health
September 26, 2020
- On August 25, 2020, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services issued an Interim Final Rule implementing the CARES Act requirement for daily laboratory reporting for COVID-19 test results, with a penalty of $1,000 for the first day of noncompliance and an additional $500 penalty for each subsequent day of noncompliance.
- On September 11, 2020, the Florida Department of Health (FDOH) issued Emergency Order 20-013 prohibiting laboratories that have not reported results of COVID-19 testing performed by the laboratory within 7 days of the completion of the COVID-19 test from electronically submitting the untimely test results through the HL7 Electronic Laboratory Reporting System (ELR) until authorized by FDOH.
- Upon discovering delinquency in COVID-19 electronic reporting please contact the FDOH ELR program at the following e-mail address: DLElectronicLabReporting@flhealth.gov.
- In addition, laboratories must immediately comply with Florida Administrative Code Rule 64D-3.031(6) by reporting COVID-19 results, without delay, by fax to the State Surgeon General (fax number (850) 414-6894) and the local FDOH of the patient’s county of residence. For a list of county health departments and their reporting contact information, please visit: www.FLhealth.gov/chdepicontact.
This effort is in support of the Public Health Emergency Declaration for COVID-19.
For additional information, please visit https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/
CMS COVID-19 Testing and Reporting Requirements
HHS Laboratory Data Reporting for COVID-19 FAQ